Back From the Dead?

If my inability to keep a successful blog is any indication of what sort of writer I am,  I am absolutely doomed.

I have an excuse, I swear! I have been laid up with a nasty sinus infection that just won’t seem to let go.   Plus I’ve been stupid busy at work.  However, just because I’ve fallen off of the technological planet doesn’t mean I haven’t been productive.

But first… an advertisement:

My very good friend, Mrs. J.W. Glanville, is offering the first in
a series of short stories as a Nook Book:

Black Cat Bone (Backwoods Black #1)

If you have a device the supports Nook-Books, go buy it…

RIGHT NOW, damn it!

Ahem…

Moving on.

In the past two weeks, here’s what I’ve done:

Submitted She-Wolf to Samhain.  If they don’t accept it, I’ll try Ellora’s Cave next.

I’ve almost finished a second draft of that freaky little horror story (which I realized the other day is a direct spin-off of the Poe song, “Haunted“.  That’s even the working title.).   It’s truly psychological horror, on a level that freaks me out just thinking about it.  My first instinct is to self-publish (we’ve all been talking about it for a while and Mrs. J.W. beat us all to it), but… we’ll see.  I have to get the stupid thing finished and re-edited first.

I also have the first chapter of a fairy-tale(ish) written.  It’s a bad knock-off of Sleeping Beauty Snow White (edited because I’m an idiot), but twisted around to the point where I doubt anyone will recognize it.  The working title on that one is Fairest, and I’m hoping it’ll actually go somewhere other than into a hole with the rest of my ideas.

The rewrites on Loki’s Game have stalled out at the half-way point.  I’m so disgusted by it that every time I look at the file, I want to delete it.  I figure it’s best to just let it sleep for now.

Now to add more confusion to the mix, I’m working on an (almost complete)  outline for a YA Novel involving nasty creatures, and a nod to Clive Barker’s universe.  No, this will not be your standard Twilight model.  My girl has a spine and isn’t afraid to use it.  And no, damn it, my boys don’t sparkle.

More to come later.

ALSO… (I know, I know…too many ongoing things!) I’ve got a Steampunk Peter Pan story that has resurrected itself.  I’ve completely bastardized the character, but I’m okay with that.  It’s slowly morphing into something that I never expected, and has taken on the working title of The Neverland Wars.  This one actually started at ConCarolinas last year (in Allen Wold’s writing workshop, believe it or not), and at this point is balancing on about 25,000 words with no end in sight.  It has been an on-again-off-again process because of all of the other stuff in my head.

And one more for good measure:  A yet-unnamed political shapeshifter fantasy/romance involving old rituals and new mythology.

Needless to say, my head is FULL.

I can hear Amy’s voice in my head as I write this… “You need to simplify! You need to prioritize!  You need to not start something new until you finish something old!”  She yells at me about this a lot, and I keep telling her that I can’t control my brain…it controls me.

All of that having been said, while I still have a few minutes left of my quiet time, I’m going to see what I can do about finishing that horror thingie.  Then there’s coffee tonight with Lexxx, and I’m hoping for some real productivity.

Oh! Last, but not least:

FandomFest is just over a month away… everybody come to Louisville and see Lexxx, and Tally, and me!

3 responses to “Back From the Dead?

  1. It appears you already know what I’m going to say. *LOL* Focus, my friend. Focus.:) But I understand getting disgusted with something and setting it aside. I’ve started dabbling with Mayberry with Monsters again, and set White Spirit aside…for now. We’ll see how this goes.

Leave a Reply

