NaNoWriMo: Hell on Paper

A big topic of discussion today has been the impending month of November, and the fun of NaNoWriMo.  A fair few of us have signed up and will spend the whole of November scrambling like mad to put 50,000 words to paper.  For those of you who have never seen NaNo, click on the name anywhere in this post to follow the link and have a look.

NaNo can be a lot of fun, but it can also be a real pain.  The goal, like I said, is 50,000 words.  Which equates to A MINIMUM of approximately 1,667 words per day.  Every day.  For thirty days.  For a writer with a full-time job, prior writing commitments, and a family, it’s the literary equivalent of insanity.

The point is to write a novel in 30 days.  To get words on paper without thought of grammar and punctuation – to just focus on the story.

Tomorrow marks the beginning of the two-week countdown.  In that time, many of us will be gearing up and clearing off our respective plates in anticipation of massive word counts.  That having been said, here’s my to-do list in the next two weeks:

♦  Finish the untitled Shifter WIP – it’s at 25,000 words now, and will probably top out around 60.  That puts me at just over 17,000 words per week.  A daunting task, but one I’m not afraid to face.  It’s right about 1,200 words per day.  Good practice for NaNo, too.

♦  Make all plans and reservations for the Employee Banquet at TDJ – the day job will be the biggest roadblock on the way toward my NaNo success this year.  If I can make it so that I have as little as possible to do at work, I’ll have more time to focus on putting pen to paper.

♦  Squash Work Orders NOW – yeah, I’ll have the October work orders to contend with, but with all the other hilarity at the real job, I’m about a month behind on updating the WO database.  Must get that done this week so that the boys have their numbers and I have one less headache.

♦  Sort out dinner for the next month – Between the husband and teenager, I have to know exactly what’s for dinner each night.  Making quick, cheap, and simple meals – some of them ahead of time and freezing them – will greatly increase my productivity.

♦  No WOW ’til done – Most of you should know by now that I’m a hopeless Warcrack addict.  I’m going to sign a contract with myself that says I can’t play until I put at least 1,200 words on paper that day.  The guildies won’t be too happy about that, but they’ll understand.

♦  Prep and send out guest post info – I can has new book this month! October 29th is the scheduled release date for my newest story, Blood Doll.  There will be LOTS of promo spots scattered around the e-verse, and those need to be ready to roll as soon as possible.  Most of them can be form-style, and emailed out as soon as I get my purchase links.  Plus I have some guest obligations in December, which means those posts need to be ready by 11/15.  Better get them done now.

♦  Map out a game plan – I’m a majority pantser when it comes to my writing (I have some outlining habits, but not many), and if I plan to stay on track with the daily NaNo minimum, then I need to have a plan of action.  I need to know the scenes and how things are going to unfold before the madness starts, because there won’t be time for second-guesses once 11/1 gets here.

♦  Schedule Doctor’s Appointments for Thursdays – and kill two birds with one stone.  My doctor’s office is near Starbucks anyway, and the Talmadge can easily bring Lexxx to meet Rooster and me.  Then we can have dinner and pair off for the evening’s festivities.  Lexxx and I can go write and not miss much of a beat, plus it won’t cut into my writing time; just my real job time.  Plus, they get first look at any new ultrasound pics and hear the updates fast.

And that, kiddies, is my list of what has to happen.  If anyone out there is planning to play along this year,  leave me a note and let me know your user name on the NaNo site.  It’s fun having lots of friends.  In case anyone is wondering, mine is LittleMissScareAll.

And if you get the reference, you get a cookie.

5 responses to “NaNoWriMo: Hell on Paper

  1. *lalalalalalalalala* ♪ I can’t hear you ♪
    I am not making a *clean my plate list*
    I am not *gasp* outlining (the horror of it)
    nope…nope…nope…

    • Oh hush, you… 🙂

      I just know myself well enough to know that I definitely need help next month. If it takes convincing myself that I can write AND keeping a running list of what I’m supposed to be doing, then I’m not afraid to admit that I need help.

      Don’t comment on the help thing…

      • *slaps hand over mouth* no “help” comments

        Sometimes you just aren’t any fun *hangs head*

        Oh, I def need it too…now that I clued myself in to the weekly word count. But I just never do them 😐 Soooo, yanno know that whole “can’t teach an old dogs new tricks” thing…..

  2. Yay, NaNo! Have we gotten Lexxx on board with this yet?

    Meanwhile, how come The Furball and I haven’t seen any ultrasound pictures yet. I want to see baby Busan! 🙂

    • We are definitely going to make Lexxx join in. As for the pictures… I always forget to bring them with me when we head your way. The best one is already up on my other Facebook. And there MAY be more sometime early in November.

      So when are you two coming up again? The goal is to hijack you that weekend and head to Amelie’s for a write-in. 🙂

Leave a Reply

